AN EXCERPT FROM MY LIFE

When she realised that I am within her

She was young and naive

Little did she know that in the days to come

She is gonna end up pledging her whole life

Slowly steadily and very carefully she climbed the ladder of motherhood

And there she welcomed her little one into her petite world too soon

And then days and nights flew in and out

As she continued to sketch the story of my life

The day she knew I was prepared to take over,

With a smile she handed me the canvas of my life

Given a free hand to complete the picture

I drew, I re drew, I tore and pasted it

I knew I was trying to craft my dreams without knowing what they were

Live remained the canvas, yet with no picture on my mind

And all she did was stand by silently; never offered a hand

In a casual chit chat, I asked about her dreams

She smiled, she budged and sometimes very clearly dodged

But soon did she realise that I take after her in finding my answers

Giving in, she looked at me which made me realise what I knew all the while

All her life was spent on me and her dreams lie in the canvas she handed me

Well living for your child is nothing but a typical motherly trait

But trusting someone to handle your cherished dream takes a lot of courage

Mom, A hundred times, I must have put across the question “Why don’t you trust me?”

Today I realise that perhaps I never knew what trust was meant to be

The picture is still incomplete, but today it’s more than just a canvas

For now they are your dreams that I hold within me as safely as you held me in your womb.

I promise, the day it completes, you will be proud…………

 

 

Leave a comment